Polaris Prize 2011 Shortlist Announced

Today at 2pm, I diligently watched my Twitter stream and listened to CBC Radio 3 with excitement as Grant Lawrence and 2009 winner, Fucked Up’s Damian Abraham, announced the 2011 Polaris Prize Shortlist:

Arcade Fire – The Suburbs

Austra – Feel It Break

Braids – Native Speaker

Destroyer – Kaputt

Galaxie – Tigre et diesel

Hey Rosetta! – Seeds

Ron Sexsmith – Long Player Late Bloome

Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol. 2: Judges

Timber Timbre – Creep On Creepin’ On

The Weeknd – House Of Balloons

Congratulations to all the nominees!

The Polaris Prize gala will be held September 19th where a cheque for $30,000 will be handed out to the winner – $10,000 more than previous years. Also new this year, the nine nominees that don’t win will each pick up $2,000.

You can find out more about the prize and all of the nominated bands at www.polarismusicprize.ca.

To check out who was on the long list, click here.

Any thoughts on who should and/or will win? Please leave your comments below!