Polaris Prize 2011 Long List Announced

The Polaris Prize 2011 Long List was announced today and, as always, it showcases the incredible artistic talent currently crafting music in Canada. The list (below) has a range of styles and displays the strong and vast amount of albums that were released in the past year.

The short list will be announced on July 6th with the gala being held September 19th where a cheque for $30,000 will be handed out to the winner ($10,000 more than previous years). You can find out more about the prize and all of the nominees at www.polarismusicprize.ca.

Polaris Prize 2011 Long List:

Arcade Fire – The Suburbs

Austra – Feel It Break

Braids – Native Speaker

Black Mountain – Wilderness Heart

Buck 65 – 20 Odd years

Louise Burns – Mellow Drama

D-Sisive – Jonestown 2: Jimmy Go Bye Bye

The Dears – Degeneration Street

Destroyer – Kaputt

Diamond Rings – Special Affections

Dirty Beaches –Badlands

Luke Doucet and The White Falcon – Steel City Trawler

Eternia & MoSS – At Last

Galaxie – Tigre Et Diesel

Jenn Grant – Honeymoon Punch

Tim Hecker – Ravedeath, 1972

Hey Rosetta – Seeds

Hooded Fang – Album

Imaginary Cities – Temporary Resident

Land Of Talk – Cloak and Cipher

Little Scream – The Golden Record

The Luyas – Too Beautiful to Work

Malajube – La Caverne

Miracle Fortress – Was I The Wave?

One Hundred Dollars – Songs Of Man

Doug Paisley – Constant Companion

PS I Love You – Meet Me At The Muster Station

Daniel Romano – Sleep Beneath the Willow

The Rural Alberta Advantage – Departing

Ron Sexsmith – Long Player Late Bloomer

Shotgun Jimmie – Transistor Sister

Sloan – The Double Cross

Frederick Squire – March 12

Stars – The Five Ghosts

Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol. 2: Judges

Timber Timbre – Creep On Creepin’ On

The Weeknd – House Of Balloons

Women – Public Strain

Neil Young ¬- Le Noise

Young Galaxy – Shapeshifting

Congratulations to everyone nominated!