Pat Lowther and Gerald Lampert Memorial Awards 2011 Shortlists Announced

The League of Canadian Poets has announced the shortlists for its 2011 Pat Lowther and Gerald Lampert Memorial Awards.

The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award recognizes the best first book of poetry published by a Canadian in the preceding year. The Pat Lowther Memorial Award is given for a book of poetry by a Canadian woman published in the preceding year. Both winners will receive a $1,000 prize.

Winners will be announced during a ceremony at the annual LCP Poetry Fest and Conference in Toronto on June 11. You can find all the details about the awards and shortlisted finalists on the League of Canadian Poets website.

Gerald Lampert Award Shortlist:
The Crow’s Vow by Susan Briscoe (Signal Edition of Vehicule Press)
That Other Beauty by Karen Enns (Brick Books)
Tiny, Frantic, Stronger by Jeff Latosik (Insomniac Press)
[sic] by Nikki Reimer (Frontenac Press)
Here Is Where We Disembark by Clea Roberts (Freehand Books)
The Nights Also by Anna Swanson (Tightrope Books)

Complete author bios and book descriptions available here.

Pat Lowther Award Shortlist:
Ossuaries by Dionne Brand (McClelland & Stewart)
Walking to Mojácar by Di Brandt with French and Spanish translations by Charles Leblanc and Ari Belathar (Turnstone Press)
Living Under Plastic by Evelyn Lau (Oolichan Books)
Memory’s Daughter by Alice Major (University of Alberta Press)
Cathedral by Pamela Porter (Ronsdale Press)
La luna, Tango, siempre la luna / The Moon, Tango, Always the Moon by Nela Rio (Broken Jaw Press)

Complete author bios and book descriptions available here.